Lets talk interracial dating…

Image

Besides High Waisted Shorts, there is something else that has taken over our generation and its called interracial dating. It’s not a trend nor a thought, it’s not a process nor a habit. It is a Change. Having been in several interracial relationships myself the difference when you view someone is not their color but shared interests and common perspectives. Our generation by far is very open-minded and tolerant than those of other generations. Growing up our generation grew up with diversity, I kissed my first girl of a different race when I was  7 years old in Daycare. Unlike our parents and church mothers our generation grew up “Multicultural” and that makes for a part of what we are today. “Our generation is more comfortable being with anyone, this is what MLK dreamed” says my boy Daquan Joyner.

A 2010 Pew Research study found that interracial marriages in the US reached a record of 4.8 million and even today that number is still climbing and breaking records. That says today in 2014 interracial dating had to increase by a vast 50% or more.  As a black man I have seen and had many things thrown while dating outside my race and not one time have I thought twice about giving up. I’ve been on both ends, dating my own race and dating outside my race. You will find that some people have their opinion on this, but at the end of the day be with someone that makes you stronger, better, caters to your needs and has a strong will. Embrace one another, embrace change, and embrace differences. In Cancun I met a guy that has been with his wife of a different race for over 20 years. I asked him what keeps you two together to this day, he said communication, ” When you communicate with each other, nothing will come between you because your minds and hearts are open to each other and thats all that matters.”

 

Until next time, take care of yourself and each other,

-Trell

Published by

Montrell Writes

Calm, Cool and Collective. Over the years I have seeked, gained and gave knowledge on relationships. By far relationships as young adults are the stepping stones to the great wonders that lie in each of our future. I just share my knowledge and experiences with you.

Leave a Reply

